Prior Authorization Extended for Another Year

Prior Authorization Extended Through December 1, 2019

CMS just announced that the Medicare Prior Authorization Model for Repetitive, Scheduled Non-Emergent Ambulance Transports is being extended for an additional year.  CMS says the model will now end in all states on December 1, 2019.

Who Does This Affect?

Ambulance Suppliers in the current model states of:

  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Maryland
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

Does the Extension Change Anything?

No.  CMS simply extended the current model program for an additional year.  Check with your MAC for any specific requirements and instructions.

What About Nationwide Expansion?

CMS is still exploring the possibility of nationwide expansion.  PWW is monitoring developments and will provide updates of any news or changes.

How Can I Learn More?

We'll be covering the exension and the potential implications for a nationwide expansion: